Here’s one of our content filter’s latest catches. It looks like it’s from eBay, but if you click on the link and update your account info, you’ll turn your account over to the phisher…

From: eBay Service Center
Subject: eBay account verification needed
Dear eBay customer,
During our regularly scheduled account maintenance and verification procedures, we have detected a slight error in your billing information.

This might be due to either of the following reasons:
1. A recent change in your personal information ( i.e.change of address).
2. Submiting invalid information during the initial sign up process.
3. An inability to accurately verify your selected option of payment due to an internal error within our processors.

Please update and verify your information by clicking the link below:
htps://xcgi.ebay.com/sw-xcgi/eBayISAPI.dll?RegisterEnterInfo

If your account information is not updated within 48 hours then your ability to sell or bid on eBay will become restricted.

Kenneth Pavet,
eBay Safe Harbour Dpt .

fyi: We broke the link in the message on purpose, so you don’t hurt yourself.

Check out what’s lurking in the message header:

Return-Path: nobody@sentry.bigbluehost2.com
Received: from unknown (HELO sentry.bigbluehost2.com) (67.18.209.58)

Doesn’t sound much like an eBay address, does it? If you don’t have a good Secure Email Boundary device, make a note.